At 11 o'clock, I'm shattered.  Oops, I'e once more forgotten that I need to pace myself.  Strange thing about fibromyalgia (in my case, anyway), is that when I feel alright, I assume I'm perfectly well and that the bad days are figments of my imagination.

So this morning, although I was exhausted from another bad night with Tom I was not in too much pain.  I threw myself out of bed and into a shower, got dressed, made the bed (that's beginning to feel like a habit!) and swished and swiped the bathroom.  Toilet is clean and shiny which does make me feel absurdly good, as is the basin and tops.  The tub will have to wait for a Zone 3 week and I'm not worrying about that.  Baby steps.

Once downstairs and haing fed Nimbus (poor cat spent the night locked in the loft - oops) I swished and swiped the downstairs loo.  I've decided to get that done before breakfast for fear of not getting to it in time. I have to say that I get that feeling about everything, but I am trying to timetable the me things too - like eating and drinking!

And so, my first real morning routine started.  I put my timer on for fifteen minutes and got the kitchen clean - sink shiny.  A further fifteen minutes took care of dinner - turkey provencal in the slow cooker.  Actually, that took about 30 minutes including the washing up afterwards.  Cup of tea time!

My next hour took care of watering the plants, making Tom's feed and rebooting laundry.  And decluttering the playroom.  Which is where I did too much.  I should have done 15 minutes and left it, but I carried on for a second 15 minutes.  At least I can see some progress, but at the expense of my "spoons"...

So...  physically I feel spent, and I'm not sure that I will be able to do much of anything for the rest of the day.  Bit silly, but I now know that I can only do one and a half hours at most before having a proper rest.

Emotionally, I feel satisfied.  Which feeling brings with it a remarkable sense of peace.  I know that the house needs more work, but that it can wait.  The essentials are taken care of - I know what we are eating for lunch and dinner, that everyone has clothes to wear for tomorrow, and that my sink is shiny.

Good feeling!
Francoise
2/9/2010 07:11:07 pm

My darling! I hadn't noticed that section of your blog! I am so impressed but mostly happy that these little steps in learning how to cope with routine make you feel good. well done you! go slowly and enjoy the progress. It will be good for all of you. Congrats to Nick for his support and help on this particular front! He might deserve a congratulation mug! Love you.

Reply



Leave a Reply.